Lingerie Shopping in China

Traveling to China? My main tip: hit up the lingerie shops.

If you’re a woman, hit them up for yourself. If you’re a man, be a true gentleman and go for the women in your life.

The first draw to lingerie in China is its price. I was in Shenzen, China (a city on the mainland by Hong Kong) and buying bras was about the equivalent of 20 U.S. dollars. As any American woman can tell you, this is a phenomenal deal. The panties came to about five dollars.

The second draw is the quality. The bras are actually made to support women. The straps are thick, not the thin spaghetti-like pieces of fabric Americans expect to hold up their breasts, and the straps on the back have three to four hooks. When I returned to America and bragged about my bras to my friends they were so excited they scoured the internet for access to bras like this – honestly, us ladies just want proper support! Get with it, Victoria’s Secret.

The third draw is how beautiful the bras are! Look at these:

Buying any number of fancy bras like this in America is likely to break the bank, but in China they were incredibly affordable, and there was a large variety; the walls are literally lined floor-to ceiling with beautiful brassieres (I still regret that the electric green bras didn’t come in my size).

The fourth draw is the beautiful non-thong panties. Don’t get me wrong, I see the appeal of a pretty G-string, but for just regular everyday wear I want something comfortable that doesn’t make me feel like a granny. Almost every bra in this store came with a matching set of panties. They had lacey panties, see-through panties, panties with netting, and nary a G-string in sight. It was wonderful and freeing, particularly as pretty American underthings seem to be shrinking by the day.

The one drawback to the lingerie in China is its size. Women in China, as a rule, are smaller than American women, so not everyone can find their size in these shops. However, if you are an especially slender woman, these shops will be a boon to you. I am a teeny woman, and my ribcage is too small to fit American bras, which is incredibly frustrating. I need at least a 30inch around for a bra and the smallest most American stores go to is a 32inch.

(please forgive the low-quality photos, I only had my iphone 4s with me and I took quick pics…)

img_1815-1
Our haul at the end of the day…stocking up on lingerie that’s made for real women!
img_1812
My cousin doesn’t know what to do with that particular pocket…
img_1808
Huge variety of underthings! See the racks of panties underneath too?
One thought on “Lingerie Shopping in China

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

