The Lake District – England

This summer I gave in to my gypsy side and drifted around Europe for three months. In June, I found myself in Northern England, staying with a friend in the Lake District.

Not only was the Crawley family incredibly hospitable, I was able to explore the area around where my ancestors lived. The Lakes were absolutely breathtaking. I saw waterfalls, walked the woods which inspired Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter, and gazed upon fields of grazing sheep. Lots of sheep. I never knew so many sheep existed.

The lakes themselves were stunning, with cloudy mountains hunched over their still waters. The giant bodies of water would catch one by surprise over a ridge or around the side of a hill. They seemed so far away from my Midwestern fields and cities.

After the fast pace of France and the slim, energetic French people, the slow, winding ways of England soothed my soul.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑