Marseille

My European Adventure started in France with a school trip. We visited four different cities from Strasbourg to Marseille. Marseille is the oldest city in France, and we stayed in Old Port. I got to ride the giant ferris wheel overlooking the harbor, unfortunately without my good camera.

However, I was able to get wonderful pictures of the port and of the Mediterranean. We spent an entire day on one of the Frioul Islands. I basked in the sun…but didn’t swim ‘cus it was freezing.

I speak a very small amount of French, but one thing I have to say about the people in Marseille, they speak fast. In Strasbourg I could get along very well, and even in Paris I could order a plate of food, however in Marseille I was at a loss. I guess its the opposite of America…people talk a lot faster in southern France. What made matters more complicated was that many of the people spoke Spanish as well. I couldn’t tell what language people were speaking half the time. It was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑