Hadrians Wall

My wanderings brought me to face to face with an incredible amount of history, from humongous churches to medieval fortresses, most of which were older than my country. Being someone who isn’t super history-centered I feel as though I couldn’t appreciate everything, but Hadrians Wall definitely left an impression.

Hadrians Wall is an ancient Roman wall still running across Northern England. Scores of people come every year to walk the wall. In many places, like this one, the wall is very obvious. In others its very difficult to find.

I had the privilege to stand on the top of the wall (…which people actually shouldn’t do…) but it was incredible to know I was standing on top of a Roman-built structure. I think my favorite part of the view was the buttercups, though.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑